A sour taste

There comes the point in your life when you feel isolated. Isolation is okay, and I need to tell myself that because otherwise, my isolation would be a nightmare. I don’t just mean the fact that I am alone, but isolation in the worst way; isolation when you’re not alone. I think times like these are the worst because even when you know, there are hands around you to catch you fall. You seem unable to reach them, and whether that’s because you feel like you’re slipping through their grip, or they are simply out of reach as you fall beside them is certainly another question.

It is certainly times like these where I feel alone. When the house is quiet, and though my daughter is here she is fast asleep and dreaming of better places, and distant worlds while I am here. I am grinding my teeth. I am stressed out and avoiding the housework like any ‘house husband’ should, and though I lack the wife to be a house husband, it doesn’t stop me from referring to my abundantly clear lack of motivation in housework. I’m sure my mother would be ashamed of me, though, this state is only temporary, and I’m well aware it is so.

A simple moment of solace at the end of the day is enough to make you question the world, and ask stupid questions like ‘Why, how, when, where, what?’ But this time I find myself sitting here just staring at the wall. I’m a little run down from the stress which involves others, but also, myself, because on days like this I feel like I’m slipping, even if it’s just my footing, I am slipping.

I know that slip is temporary, that a fall like this is for but a single moment, but still, I savour it like savouring the taste of fine food. Tomorrow, after feeling sorry for myself, I’ll stand strong and with the motivation to do the things that I need to do. For tomorrow is my dissertation work, for tomorrow is a gym day, and tomorrow is judo. I haven’t been to judo for a while, and I need to go back. I’m a little annoyed at myself.

I’m not scared of death, but I am scared of dying in life.

– Daniel Thomas Whittington

Leave a Reply

