Duolingo

Duolingo is an App on google store: Click here

Duolingo also has a website: Click here

Now, what is Duolingo?

Duolingo is an app I’ve been using for the last month, to learn Spanish. I must say, I’m pretty impressed with how useful this app has been. I would really recommend it to anyone learning a new language.

You can learn any of these languages: Learn English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Irish, Danish, Swedish, Russian, Ukrainian, Esperanto, Polish and Turkish, and Welsh.

They add more, and structure the existing ones better, already.

The reason for this post:

Like I said above, I’ve been using Duolingo for the last month, and feel I’ve learned more Spanish than I have in the two years of Spanish lessons I had in School. Now, that either says a lot about me as a student, a lot about the teaching, or a lot about this app. I’ll go with saying a lot about this app.

Now, I’m not sure about how good the other languages are to learn, but Spanish has been a brilliant language to learn on this app, and it teaches you to structure sentences, translate the Spanish into English, English into Spanish. It speaks a sentence, and you have to write it down. There are exercises where you can write the words down yourself so you get used to writing the language, rather than just picking words. You also speak into the microphone to speak the language as well. To work on pronunciation, and the phonology of Spanish, as they have some different vowel sounds to English speaker. Also, getting used to the letter H being non-existent in Spanish, has been a real challenge, as it’s very prominent in English.

If anyone is looking to learn a new language, I would definitely recommend it. I am only considered ‘5%’ fluent on the app, but I can now pick up over a couple of hundred words in Spanish, and though that may not seem a lot, it’s a start.

I was very surprised they offered Welsh as a language to learn as well. I should try it sometime, and let you guys know. Until then, hope this helps anyone looking to learn a new language. The app asks you to set an easy to difficult setting, to state how much you want to practise it. The app actually recommends no more than 20 minutes a day, to become fluent in a language, over time.

Good luck!

Below is some of the examples of how it works.13579891_1038812979539752_803307927_o.png

13570005_1038811496206567_1972863449_o.png

13579850_1038811666206550_2032884416_o.png

13589018_1038811482873235_213572953_o.png

13582297_1038811702873213_2031666594_o.png

 

Believe in yourself, for when you don’t, I will.

Leave a Reply

