Simulacrum

Have you ever met someone who sometimes seems like a mirror image of you. You have to look deeper than what you see at face value. Our decisions, choices, and circumstances mould us, sculpt us, change us. There are deeper things behind out choices, that makes us who we are.

I mean, someone who is almost a counterpart, a doppelgänger. It is more like someone who has similar attributes to you, and even if in colour they are different to yours, what is behind them, can quite possibly match you more than you’d think.

I met someone in January whom I couldn’t get out of my head, and not because I found her attractive, or wanted to jump into bed with her, but because there was something about her I couldn’t put my finger on. Though we had a disagreement, we’ve been talking for the better part of the last 2-3 months. We’ve gotten quite close and there are still things I can’t put my finger on.

The things she says for one, just like me. It’s like having a moment of clarity, once a day, once every two, where your brain is hyper-focused and you need to say the things on your mind. And for once, instead of your brain being a mess, everything is clear and you write out what you need to say until it’s said and done.

It’s almost like a dance, where we stand around each other, and move around, testing each other without meaning to, analysing each other without needing to, and fumbling around each other like we are new to the whole thing. It’s interesting, and I think we’re in the exact same position with one another.

It really has been quite interesting, and quite mind boggling to think that facing each other, we might be both the same, and opposites of one another. At the same time of that, she seems to be one of the few people in the world that really want to get to know me. That, and she’s not afraid to actually talk to me properly, in a deep manner.

It’s just one of those surprises life throws at you I suppose.

Food for thought; I’m looking forward to seeing what happens.

Leave a Reply

