Diaries of a Madman IV

If you pour a handful of salt into a cup of water, the water becomes undrinkable. But if you pour the salt into a river, people can continue to draw the water to cook, wash, and drink. The river is immense, and it has the capacity to receive, embrace, and transform. When our hearts are small, our understanding and compassion are limited, and we suffer. We can’t accept or tolerate others and their shortcomings, and we demand that they change. But when our hearts expand, these same things don’t make us suffer anymore. We have a lot of understanding and compassion and can embrace others. We accept others as they are, and then they have a chance to transform.

I came across this quote from a man named, ‘Thick Nhat Hanh’ in his book, How to love.  I wasn’t sure about this as I spotted it on a news site, and lets face it… they aren’t particularly trustworthy, are they?

Well, it seems quite interesting actually as it resonates with a similar thinking I have on such matters. I’ve looked for someone to understand me the better part of my life, and with little luck in such matters, it helped me understand myself more than anything. This man writes his philosophical ideals about how to love in this book.

When we feed and support our own happiness, we are nourishing our ability to love. That’s why to love means to learn the art of nourishing our happiness.

Understanding someone’s suffering is the best gift you can give another person. Understanding is love’s other name. If you don’t understand, you can’t love.

I mean, whats not to love about these passages? They make you think, have a positive vibe about them, and its all about love.

I liked the words, ‘Understanding is love’s other name.’ as that’s what I’ve always tried to do, understand. Though, I’m still figuring out whether or not that sounds a bit dodgy seeing as if someone says, “I’m trying to understand everyone”, as in ‘love’ everyone, then I’d probably reply saying,

“Alright mate, keep it in your pants.”

But regardless, it’s idyllic, and a philosophy I can understand. (See what I did there?).

 

On another note: – I realized yesterday, how scary I can come across. Worst of all, it could be the smallest, shortest, yet powerful statements I say without thinking, “Maybe, just maybe, Daniel, they’re a bit much.” Like when playing Ark yesterday. Where, for some reason, I get called ‘The King’ Nothing to do with my username being, ‘King Vargr’ but still. Ha.

And when a teammate threatened me, accidentally killed a tamed dinosaur, lost all of the equipment he was wearing, and then started barking orders at me…

I simply replied, “Talk to me like that, and I may remove your head from your shoulders” the other tribemembers became like dolls with beady little eyes watching us argue. And all of a sudden he said, “Okay, thank you for helping 🙂 🙂 :)” So, it worked. I think. I can’t believe I gotta act like a King in the game just to make sure they don’t try and betray me, sheesh. It reminds me of when I played a game called, ‘War of Vikings’. It was when I first changed my name to King Vargr, and I would have people with shields standing near, or in front of me, all the time.

Ah, memories. Back in the days where I played that game with a two handed executioners axe, and the guys would stand in front of me, and when an enemy charged, they’d separate and watch me decapitate them. Maybe that’s where I get it from. Ha.

 

So, I will state one thing that is aggravating me at the moment… and that is my tiredness. I’ve not been able to wake up energetically since January, and whether that’s because I need to catch up on several hours of sleep, stress, something stupid, or a shadow lurking over me, who knows. But it is succeeding in irritating me. So, forgiveness being a virtue and all, I hope some people can forgive me for being a moody pants sometimes.

 

Leave a Reply

