The Nordic expression

I woke up this morning, with exhausted eyes, aching limbs, a pain in my back, and a cry from the other room; as to be expected. It’s all fine, and well. The strangest thing happened though amongst these crappy feelings. I couldn’t help but wake up with a smile on my face. It wasn’t because of a girl, or some fancy dream – though I did have one. It was because I’ve still yet to miss a lesson of University. Even with the four migraines I’ve suffered in the last month, the stomach aches, and odd cold. *strikes a pose*

I know. It doesn’t seem like much, but I realised I’ve been present for every lecture, I should know what I’m doing, but instead of panicking, or performing my daily, “What’s going on, what’s going on!” run about, I just dropped the idea of worry and told myself, “I’ll deal with it, as it comes.” I feel good about today, though I expect half of the class to be absent due to a slight misunderstanding with the trains.

All in all, I’m trying to look on the positive. I’ve made up with one friend, and apologised and I have one to go – I don’t want to argue, or cause hell for someone on this course. I’m spending three years with them, and it’s sort of like being married to 30 people, you can either spend it always complaining – making it negative… or… you can spend the time trying to make yourself, and them happy for a bit, give someone a reason to smile once in a while.

I’m still behind on my reading, I have three books to catch up on, though I’ll get there, like a turtle gets there in the end. If I did use less time procrastinating and more time actually working then my day would go very well. Too bad.

I’m just going to enjoy my day, and try and emphasise the teachings that I picked up from reading the Poetic Edda. It’s not that the Gods are invincible, or immortal. They can die, be injured, or stand strong. It’s the fact that they teach us that it isn’t about being perfect, but about having the ability to overcome your fears, problems, and pain and move forward.

Rather than being stuck in time, in a liminal place – I want to walk forward.

I hope everyone who reads this blog has a lovely day, and makes just one other person smile – as if that keeps up we’ll get around to make everyone smile at least once. 🙂

Leave a Reply

